COVID-19 Info

Update on travel to and from Malta – 22.10.2020


The ‘amber list’ of countries:

All passengers arriving from the following countries will be required to submit a negative COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test before boarding flights to Malta. Passengers who do not present this certificate can be asked to swab at the Malta International Airport or asked to self-quarantine in Malta upon arrival.

  • Austria*
  • Belgium (all airports)*
  • Bulgaria*
  • Czech Republic 
  • France (all Paris airports, Marseille)
  • Hungary*
  • Ireland*
  • Netherlands (all airports)*
  • Poland (Gdansk, Krakow)*
  • Portugal (Porto)*
  • Romania**
  • Spain (Madrid, Barcelona and Girona airport) 
  • Switzerland (all airports)*
  • Tunisia
  • United Kingdom (Belfast, Cardiff, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle)*

*the measure will enter into force at 01.00hrs on the 24th of October. ** will be removed from this list at 01.00hrs on the 24th of October.

Passengers arriving from the abovementioned destinations will be required to present a negative result of a swab test carried out within the last 72 hours.

This ‘amber list’ will be updated regularly.


Travel from ‘safe corridor countries’:


The list of countries was published in Legal Notice (LN) 244 of 2020, Travel Ban (Extension to all Countries) (Amendment) Order, 2020; LN 255 of 2020, Travel Ban (Extension to all Countries) (Amendment No 2) Order, 2020 and amended by LN 280 of 2020, Travel Ban (Extension to all Countries) (Amendment No 3) Order 2020, LN 290 of 2020,Travel Ban (Extension to all Countries) (Amendment No 4) Order, 2020, LN 289 of 2020, Period of Quarantine (Amendment No.4) LN 388 of 2020, Travel Ban (Extension to all Countries) (Amendment No 5) Order 2020 and LN 333 of 2020, Public Health Act, Mandatory Tests for Certain Travellers Regulations. Travel to and from the following countries will be permitted:


Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Rwanda, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican City.


Gibraltar, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan are also considered as within Malta’s travel corridor countries (considered with UK and China respectively).


Quarantine on arrival to Malta will not be applicable to those travelling from these countries, but suspected persons will be requested to have a swab test.


In this regard and until the said Travel Ban remains in place Maltese nationals are advised against all travel to countries not on the above list (


Only persons who would have spent at least 2 weeks in one or more of the above country/ies prior to arriving in Malta will be allowed to travel without requirement of PCR testing or quarantine, otherwise testing and quarantine upon arrival are required.


Only Maltese Nationals with a valid Maltese ID Card, and those who have a valid Maltese residency permit are eligible to return to Malta from countries not on the safe-corridor country list above.


However, they are required to abide by the Medical Protocol for testing of persons arriving in Malta, which includes:

  • PCR Swab Test done within 7 days prior to travel to Malta which must be Negative (The result, from a licensed or accredited lab, must be available by the time of travel)
  • PCR Swab Test on day 7-10 from arrival in Malta (test can be done by calling the COVID19 Helpline on 111 or if you have a foreign SIM card you can contact the Helpline on 21324086)
  • You must also observe quarantine, in isolation from all other persons for 14 full days from arrival in Malta. You must not come in contact with other household members if you must share a household. Other household members also need to observe quarantine. The quarantine period needs to be observed in full regardless of any negative swab results. This is as per Legal Notice 63 of 2020, the Period of Quarantine (Amendment) Order, 2020, further amended by LN’s 79, 252 and 279 of 2020 
  • Swab test results and the address where quarantine is to be observed must be sent by email to quarantine.c​

In case they will have been residing in one of the listed countries for at least two weeks no testing and quarantine is required.

Further details are found here:



Consular Issues:


For COVID-19 consular related issues one can contact the Situation Centre at the Ministry for Foreign and European Affairs on: Helpline: (356) 22042200


Ministry for Foreign and European Affairs
Palazzo Parisio
Merchants Street
Valletta, VLT 1171

2124 2191

2123 6604